Langue française Langue anglaise
       
Create an account  |

Blue and green water

Water from precipitation can be broken down into two elements depending on its transit speed in the water cycle. The distinction between blue water and green water was first proposed by Falkenberg in the work published in 1995.

When it rains, one part of the water that reaches the ground contributes to what is known as blue water (from surface run-off and percolation to the groundwater table). The rest constitutes green water:

Green and blue water diagram

Green and Blue water. Source : Falkenmark and Rockström 2005.

Blue water is used by businesses and households and generally returns to the cycle after it has been treated. Blue water used for agricultural purposes (irrigation) or collected in woods, however, is not returned to circulation but stays linked to agricultural products or is transpired to return to the atmosphere as green water.

Green water is necessary for feeding and maintaining processes at the heart of the ecosystems as well as the functions, goods and services generated by these ecosystems. At the same time, it can be used to provide blue water to society. Adaptation to climate change will need to consider how this trade-off is managed to ensure a steady supply of water to trees, animals and humans.

In addition to maintaining a healthy ecosystem, forest ecosystems contribute to regulation functions and related ecosystem services: regulating ecological processes, biogeochemical cycles and biospheric processes. Further, forests actively contribute to the regulation of carbon balance levels, the climate (via actual evapotranspiration), the regulation and supply of water, to soil formation and conservation and to the cycles of mineral elements.

The management of watersheds modulates the flow of water both upstream and downstream; the head of a wooded watershed area produces green water upstream and reduces blue water downstream.

Useful references :

Falkenmark M., Rockström J. (2006) The New Blue and Green Water Paradigm: Breaking New Ground for Water Resources Planning and Management. Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management, May-June 2006, 129-132.

Birot Y, Gracia C, Palahi M (2011) Water for Forests and People in the Mediterranean Region– A Challenging Balance. What Science Can Tell Us 1, 2011. ISBN : 978-952-5453-80-5.

Birot Y., Garcia C., Palahi M. (2011) L’eau pour les Forêts et les Hommes en Région Méditerranéenne : un équilibre à trouver. What Science Can Tell Us, 1, 2011. ISBN : 978-952-5453-82-9

Top of page

Langue française Langue anglaise
       
Créer un compte  |

L’eau verte et l’eau bleue

L’eau des précipitations peut être décomposée en deux fractions selon sa vitesse de transit dans le cycle de l’eau. La distinction eau bleue / eau verte a été proposée par Falkenberg en 1995.

Quand il pleut, une fraction de l’eau qui atteint le sol contribue à l’eau bleue (par ruissellement superficiel et par percolation vers les nappes d’eau souterraine) : le reste constitue l’eau verte.

Schéma eau verte et bleue

Eau verte et eau bleue. Source : Falkenmark and Rockström 2005.

L’eau bleue utilisée par l’industrie et les ménages est en grande partie remise dans le circuit après traitement ; en revanche, l’eau bleue consommée par l’agriculture (irrigation) ou stockée dans le bois, n’est pas remise en circulation : elle reste liée dans les produits agricoles ou est transpirée et retourne comme eau verte dans l’atmosphère.

L’eau verte est nécessaire pour alimenter et maintenir les processus au sein des écosystèmes, ainsi que les fonctions, biens et services dispensés par ces écosystèmes. En même temps, il convient de fournir de l’eau bleue à la société. L’adaptation au changement climatique doit anticiper la gestion de ce compromis : assurer la fourniture d’eau aux arbres, aux animaux et aux personnes.

En plus du maintien de la santé des écosystèmes, les écosystèmes forestiers contribuent aux fonctions de régulations et aux services écosystémiques qui y sont liés : régulation des processus écologiques, cycles biogéochimiques, processus biosphériques. Les forêts contribuent en outre à la régulation du bilan de carbone, à la régulation du climat (via l’évapotranspiration réelle), à la régulation et à la fourniture d’eau, à la conservation et la formation des sols, aux cycles des éléments minéraux.

La gestion et l’aménagement des bassins versants modulent les flux d’eau amont et aval : une tête de bassin boisée produit de l’eau verte en amont et réduit l’eau bleue en aval.

Références utiles :

Falkenmark M., Rockström J. (2006) The New Blue and Green Water Paradigm: Breaking New Ground for Water Resources Planning and Management. Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management, May-June 2006, 129-132.

Birot Y, Gracia C, Palahi M (2011) Water for Forests and People in the Mediterranean Region– A Challenging Balance. What Science Can Tell Us 1, 2011. ISBN : 978-952-5453-80-5.

Birot Y., Garcia C., Palahi M. (2011) L’eau pour les Forêts et les Hommes en Région Méditerranéenne : un équilibre à trouver. What Science Can Tell Us, 1, 2011. ISBN : 978-952-5453-82-9

Haut de page